Skip to Content

List of Eagle Species

Eagles are large birds of prey which are members of the bird family Accipitridae and belong to several genera which are not necessarily closely related to each other. Most of the more than 60 species occur in Eurasia and Africa. Outside this area, just two species can be found in the United States and Canada, nine more in Central and South America, and three in Australia. Below is listed all the members of the eagle family.

Sea Eagles

White-bellied Sea-eagle (© Shankar S / Flickr)
As their name suggests, sea eagles, and the closely-related fish eagles, live near water bodies and exist on a diet largely comprised of fish. This widespread and varied family of eagles can be found on every continent except South America and Antarctica, the most famous of which being the Bald Eagle, the national bird of the USA.
White-bellied Sea-eagle Haliaeetus leucogasterLC
Sanford’s Sea-eagle Haliaeetus sanfordiVU
African Fish-eagle Haliaeetus vociferLC
Madagascar Fish-eagle Haliaeetus vociferoidesCR
Pallas’s Fish-eagle Haliaeetus leucoryphusVU
White-tailed Eagle Haliaeetus albicillaLC
Bald Eagle Haliaeetus leucocephalusLC
Steller’s Sea-eagle Haliaeetus pelagicusVU
Lesser Fish-eagle Ichthyophaga humilisNT
Grey-headed Fish-eagle Ichthyophaga ichthyaetusNT


Short-toed Snake-eagle (© Koshy Koshy / Flickr)

Other eagle species

Harpy Eagle (© Bjørn Christian Tørrissen)

Play your partto protect birds

Your support is critical to ensure that BirdLife International can continue its work, delivering high impact and long-term conservation for both people and nature.