Spring Alive

Spring Alive is an international campaign to encourage children’s interest in nature and the conservation of migratory birds.

By posting their first sightings of Barn Swallow, White Stork, Common Cuckoo, Common Swift, and European Bee-eater on the www.springalive.net website, children from Europe, Central Asia and Africa create a real-time map of the incredible journeys these birds take every year.

Each year, spring begins with a few scattered early sightings in warm countries, which are displayed as patches of pale pink on the Spring Alive map.

Over the next few months, as more sightings flood in, the colour spreads and deepens, until all the countries where these birds breed are a rich, glowing red,

Spring Alive began in 2006 as a European project, which soon spread to Central Asia. In 2010, Spring Alive was extended to Africa, where from September onwards children look out for the return of the same five species from their breeding grounds in Europe and Asia.

Creating the map remains the core activity. But Spring Alive now involves lots more indoor and outdoor events, to engage children, schools and the wider community in the conservation of migratory birds, and to encourage them to support their national BirdLife Partners.

In 2013, over 54,000 children, 900 teachers and supervisors, and 500 volunteers from 49 countries, recorded a total of 270,000 sightings of migratory birds on the Spring Alive website, and joined in a range of Spring Alive activities.

This year, with the announcement that Azerbaijan is joining, at least 50 countries will be taking part.

Spring Alive is organised by OTOP, the BirdLife Partner in Poland, on behalf of the BirdLife Partnership. Wildlife groups, teachers and others who would like to become more involved in Spring Alive should contact the International Coordinator, Karolina Kalinowska

 

Follow Spring Alive on YouTube and Flickr

 


Spring Alive project would not be possible without the great support of The Mitsubishi Corporation Fund for Europe and Africa (MCFEA), Spring Alive’s main sponsor. The aims of the MCFEA are to encourage the appreciation and conservation of flora and fauna with an emphasis on endangered species.


Spring Alive National Coordinators

CountryNational coordinatorEmail
ArmeniaTsovinar Hovhannisyantsovinarhov86@gmail.com
AzerbaijanElchin Sultanovelchin_sultanov@aos.az
BelarusKaryna Soloveysalavei@ptushki.org
B&HNermina Sarajlicnermina_sarajlic@yahoo.com
BulgariaAnna Stanevaanna.staneva@bspb.org
BotswanaRandall Tselengeecoordinator@birdlifebotswana.org.bw
Burkina FasoPrudence Tankoanoprudence.tankoano@naturama.bf
CameroonFerdinand Bengyellaferdinandbengyella@gmail.com
CroatiaVedran Lucicvedran.lucic@biom.hr
CyprusMaria Christodouloumaria.christodoulou@birdlifecyprus.org.cy
Czech RepublicLucie Hoskovalucie.hoskova@gmail.com
GhanaReuben Ottoureubenott@yahoo.co.uk
GreeceEvgenia Panoriouepanoriou@ornithologiki.gr
Ireland Niall Hatchnhatch@birdwatchireland.ie
ItalyLivia Speranzalivia.speranza@lipu.it
KazachstanZhanna Aksartovazhanna.aksartova@acbk.kz
KenyaJoan Gichukiconservation@naturekenya.org
LatviaDaiga Brakmanedaiga.brakmane@gmail.com
LithuaniaGediminas Petkusgediminas.petkus@birdlife.lt
MacedoniaKiril Arsovskikirilwasp@yahoo.com
MontenegroJelena Delicjelena.czip@gmail.com
HungaryLaszlo Kincseskincses.laszlo@mme.hu
MalawiAusward Bonongweauswardwesm@gmail.com
NigeriaSolomon Adefolusolomon.adefolu@ncfnigeria.org
PolandHanna Rachwaldhanna.rachwald@otop.org.pl
PortugalAlexandra Lopes alexandra.lopes@spea.pt
RomaniaValentin Marinvalentin.marin@sor.ro
RSAKristi Garlandkristi.garland@birdlife.org.za
RwandaKathy Umimanimitsu7kate@gmail.com
SerbiaDrasko Grujicdrasko.grujic@gmail.com
Sierra LeoneAbraham Kailie buckam77@yahoo.com
SlovakiaJán Gúghgugh@vtaky.sk
SloveniaBarbara Vidmar barbara.svetptic@gmail.com
SwitzerlandEva Inderwildieva.inderwildi@birdlife.ch
SpainMiguel Muñoz Carmonaleugimmc@hotmail.com
TurkeyAyşe Sargınayse.sargin@dogadernegi.org
TunisiaClaudia Feltrup-Azafzafaao@topnet.tn
UgandaMichael OpigeMichael.opige@natureuganda.org
UkraineZoryana Lukyanchukdevelopment@birdlife.org.ua
UzbekistanOleg Kashkarovoleg.kashkarov@iba.uz
ZambiaVictor Siingwazosssg@zamnet.zm
ZimbabweFadzai MatsivimboFadzai@blz.co.zw

 

Project news