24 Jun 2009

List of Penguin Species

By Nick Askew

Here’s a list of Penguin species. In total there are 18 species in the penguin family, of which 11 are Globally Threatened according to BirdLife on behalf of the IUCN Red List.

The list of penguins (order Sphenisciformes, family Spheniscidae) includes aquatic, flightless birds living almost exclusively in the southern hemisphere, especially in Antarctica. Highly adapted for life in the water, members of the penguin familiy have countershaded dark and white plumage, and their wings have become flippers.

Most penguins feed on krill, fish, squid, and other forms of sealife caught while swimming underwater. They spend about half of their life on land and half in the oceans. Although all penguin species are native to the southern hemisphere, they are not found only in cold climates, such as Antarctica. In fact, only a few species of penguin live so far south. Several species are found in the temperate zone, and one species, the Galápagos Penguin, lives near the equator.


King Penguin Aptenodytes patagonicus LC
Emperor Penguin Aptenodytes forsteri LC
Gentoo Penguin Pygoscelis papua NT
Adelie Penguin Pygoscelis adeliae LC
Chinstrap Penguin Pygoscelis antarcticus LC
Southern Rockhopper Penguin Eudyptes chrysocome VU
Northern Rockhopper Penguin Eudyptes moseleyi EN
Fiordland Penguin Eudyptes pachyrhynchus VU
Snares Penguin Eudyptes robustus VU
Erect-crested Penguin Eudyptes sclateri EN
Macaroni Penguin Eudyptes chrysolophus VU
Royal Penguin Eudyptes schlegeli VU
Yellow-eyed Penguin Megadyptes antipodes EN
Little Penguin Eudyptula minor LC
African Penguin Spheniscus demersus EN
Humboldt Penguin Spheniscus humboldti VU
Magellanic Penguin Spheniscus magellanicus NT
Galapagos Penguin Spheniscus mendiculus EN

Image: List of Penguin species (Guillaume Dargaud).