Quantcast

News nature alert

Popular support for regulation that works

Tue, 06/09/2016
Many commentators are suggesting that the EU is currently locked in the throes of an existential crisis as a result of the UK Brexit vote,

It's autumn, free the Nature Directives!

Thu, 01/09/2016

It’s “back to school” for the European Commission after the summer break and one of the

Environment Ministers speak up for Nature laws

Mon, 20/06/2016
EU environment ministers echo MEPs: Free the nature laws!

Being 'Nature Alert' in Amsterdam

Mon, 06/06/2016
Perhaps the most important conference in the fight to save EU nature laws could end up a damp squib. Here's why.

UK's David Cameron supports EU nature laws,...

Thu, 02/06/2016
The declaration is supported by the RSPB and WWF UK, which say 'The safer option for our wildlife and environment is for the UK to remain within the EU'.

New study confirms EU nature laws’ effectiveness

Thu, 19/05/2016
Will it nudge the European Commission to release the results of the 'fitness check' of the Directives and declare them 'fit for purpose'?

More than 11,000 ‘Nature Alert’ citizens call on...

Wed, 18/05/2016
The time for waiting is over, people throughout Europe are ‘Nature Alert’ and are calling for action to protect and better implement the EU’s nature laws.

What's next in BirdLife's campaign to...

Tue, 03/05/2016
From research and a social media onslaught to national events by our Partners, we're doing it all.

Do not open nature laws, improve implementation:...

Wed, 10/02/2016
MEPs have come down decisively on the side of the Birds and Habitats Directives in the ongoing battle to protect the EU’s environmental legislation.

European Parliament Votes for Nature

Tue, 02/02/2016
The European Parliament’s stood up to defend key EU nature laws in a vote at its plenary session in Strasbourg.

Big on big things?

Wed, 13/01/2016
In 2015, we set criteria to test the EU’s commitment to sustainable development and addressing the environmental crisis. How did the Commission perform?

The European Commission has been alerted. Now for...

Thu, 17/12/2015
...making sure it listens and protects our nature laws.

Now The Netherlands joins fight to save Europe...

Tue, 08/12/2015
The Netherlands has today joined the ten EU countries who've already publicly stood up for Europe’s key nature laws.

Nature Summit: hundreds gather in Brussels to...

Fri, 20/11/2015
Hundreds gathering in Brussels for event calling on European Commission to protect key nature laws.

The verdict is in: Europe’s nature laws are fit...

Thu, 12/11/2015
We're getting the first findings from European lawmakers on their review of key European nature laws.

Together, forward

Wed, 07/10/2015
Regional director of BirdLife Europe and Central Asia, Angelo Caserta, tells us what the BirdLife Partnership will be focussing on next to protect birds and the environment.

Citizens speak up: Don’t mess with the Nature...

Tue, 08/09/2015
520,325 citizens called on the European Commission to protect environmental laws in the biggest response to an EU public consultation. Is the Commission listening?

SEA ALERT

Mon, 06/07/2015
As millions of Europeans go to the beach (or dream about it) the seas are dying. Only 5,9% is protected and the Mediterranean is almost entirely overfished. This is not the time for less protection, it’s time for #naturealert