News Fitness check

It's autumn, free the Nature Directives!

Thu, 01/09/2016

It’s “back to school” for the European Commission after the summer break and one of the

European Commission expert study confirms that EU...

Wed, 06/07/2016

On 5 July the European Commission made public its expert study on the EU Nature Directi

Being 'Nature Alert' in Amsterdam

Mon, 06/06/2016
Perhaps the most important conference in the fight to save EU nature laws could end up a damp squib. Here's why.

New study confirms EU nature laws’ effectiveness

Thu, 19/05/2016
Will it nudge the European Commission to release the results of the 'fitness check' of the Directives and declare them 'fit for purpose'?

What's next in BirdLife's campaign to...

Tue, 03/05/2016
From research and a social media onslaught to national events by our Partners, we're doing it all.

Do not open nature laws, improve implementation:...

Wed, 10/02/2016
MEPs have come down decisively on the side of the Birds and Habitats Directives in the ongoing battle to protect the EU’s environmental legislation.

Big on big things?

Wed, 13/01/2016
In 2015, we set criteria to test the EU’s commitment to sustainable development and addressing the environmental crisis. How did the Commission perform?

The European Commission has been alerted. Now for...

Thu, 17/12/2015
...making sure it listens and protects our nature laws.

Now The Netherlands joins fight to save Europe...

Tue, 08/12/2015
The Netherlands has today joined the ten EU countries who've already publicly stood up for Europe’s key nature laws.

How the EU "Fitness Check" can become a...

Wed, 25/11/2015
On behalf of BirdLife Europe and NABU (BirdLife in Germany) we would like to invite you to our workshop on Tuesday 1st December 2015.

Nature Summit: hundreds gather in Brussels to...

Fri, 20/11/2015
Hundreds gathering in Brussels for event calling on European Commission to protect key nature laws.

All you have to do…is listen to the birds

Mon, 08/06/2015
My name is Patricia Zurita, CEO of BirdLife International. I am an economist (a green one), originally from Ecuador and currently living in Cambridge.

Traveling through time, with and without, the...

Fri, 05/06/2015
Birds shot from August to May, wolves and goshawks considered vermin and exterminated without a second thought. Insects, frogs and turtles ignored. Just 5% of Europe’s landscape protected… welcome to Europe. Before the Nature Directives.

Nature in the crosshair

Thu, 30/10/2014

The Birds and Habitats Directives are the bedrock of nature conservation in the