Quantcast

News Birds and Habitats Directives

Victory! - All for Nature, Nature for All

Wed, 07/12/2016
Victory! Today, the European Commission finally announced that they will uphold the benchmark and hugely popular laws that protect Europe’s Nature.

Birds and Beyond – Special Protection Areas in...

Fri, 02/12/2016
The EU’s Birds Directive does, in fact, do far more than just protect birds – as it turns out, one small step for birds, is a giant leap for animal-kind more-broadly!

Carpe Naturam! A call on Vice-President...

Wed, 05/10/2016
First Vice-President Timmermans put his best foot forward in New York last week. In championing the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals...

The Hunt for Green October

Wed, 05/10/2016
Autumn is truly here – birds yearn to fly south but are anxious to do so until knowing that the Nature Directives, so critical to protect them during their travels...

The future of Europe: dark horizon or bright sky?

Mon, 03/10/2016
The BirdLife Europe and Central Asia team responds to 'Brexit' and its potentially devastating consequences on Europe's environment.

It's autumn, free the Nature Directives!

Thu, 01/09/2016

It’s “back to school” for the European Commission after the summer break and one of the

Being 'Nature Alert' in Amsterdam

Mon, 06/06/2016
Perhaps the most important conference in the fight to save EU nature laws could end up a damp squib. Here's why.

UK's David Cameron supports EU nature laws,...

Thu, 02/06/2016
The declaration is supported by the RSPB and WWF UK, which say 'The safer option for our wildlife and environment is for the UK to remain within the EU'.

New study confirms EU nature laws’ effectiveness

Thu, 19/05/2016
Will it nudge the European Commission to release the results of the 'fitness check' of the Directives and declare them 'fit for purpose'?

More than 11,000 ‘Nature Alert’ citizens call on...

Wed, 18/05/2016
The time for waiting is over, people throughout Europe are ‘Nature Alert’ and are calling for action to protect and better implement the EU’s nature laws.

Do not open nature laws, improve implementation:...

Wed, 10/02/2016
MEPs have come down decisively on the side of the Birds and Habitats Directives in the ongoing battle to protect the EU’s environmental legislation.

European Parliament Votes for Nature

Tue, 02/02/2016
The European Parliament’s stood up to defend key EU nature laws in a vote at its plenary session in Strasbourg.
Windfarms on protected areas in Kaliakra, Bulgaria - Photo © RSPB images

Bulgarian government condemned by Court for...

Thu, 14/01/2016
The country's failure to properly protect a Natura 2000 site on the Kaliakra cape is coming in for criticism from judges at the European Court of Justice, the court of the EU.

What's next for EU biodiversity?

Mon, 11/01/2016
Juncker’s long “to-do-list” to save Europe’s nature.

The European Commission has been alerted. Now for...

Thu, 17/12/2015
...making sure it listens and protects our nature laws.

A real European union emerges to back nature

Wed, 16/12/2015
Environment Ministers from EU member countries have backed the Nature Directives in the face of a European Commission 'Fitness Check' process.

Now The Netherlands joins fight to save Europe...

Tue, 08/12/2015
The Netherlands has today joined the ten EU countries who've already publicly stood up for Europe’s key nature laws.

How the EU "Fitness Check" can become a...

Wed, 25/11/2015
On behalf of BirdLife Europe and NABU (BirdLife in Germany) we would like to invite you to our workshop on Tuesday 1st December 2015.