News Japan

How simple striped sheets could save seabirds

Fri, 30/09/2016
Low-cost synthetic sheets, affixed to fishing nets, could help to warn diving seabirds away from the fine nylon mesh that claims hundreds of thousands of their lives annually
Great Cormorant © HIH Princess Takamado

The Moment Birds Take Off

Mon, 01/08/2016
“Through the Lens”, Fujingaho Magazine, August 2016
Alton will now work in Chinese Taiwan to save seabirds from accidental death. © Ross Wanless

Training scientists to save seabirds

Mon, 06/06/2016
Meet Alton. He is tall, calm of character, and with a measured approach to work. He knows his fish and he knows his boats. And now he has become a seabird identification expert too – he works in Chinese Taiwan to teach fisheries observers to save seabirds from accidental death.
Great Spotted Woodpecker © HIH Princess Takamado

A Wonder of Evolution - Woodpeckers

Wed, 01/06/2016
“Through the Lens”, Fujingaho Magazine, June 2016
Ural Owl, a juvenile © HIH Princess Takamado

The Goddess of Wisdom

Fri, 01/04/2016
“Through the Lens”, Fujingaho Magazine, April 2016
Black-faced Spoonbill (Platalea minor) in flight (Photo: Yun-tak Chung/HKBWS)

Record Black-faced Spoonbill count, despite...

Fri, 11/03/2016
The annual International Black-faced Spoonbill Census recorded 3,356 individuals in January 2016, an increase of 2.6% from the last year’s 3,272 individuals, and a record recent count for this Endangered Asian waterbird.
Scaly Thrush (Zoothera dauma) Photo: HIH Princess Takamado

Thrushes in Winter

Mon, 01/02/2016
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho Magazine, February 2016

West African Ambassadors endorse BirdLife’s...

Thu, 17/12/2015
On understanding the vital roles vultures play in ecosystems, West African Ambassadors quickly reversed any personal attitudes of distaste towards vultures and expressed full support to BirdLife's campaign.
Reed Cormorant (Microcarbo africanus) Photo: HIH Princess Takamado

The Eyes of the Cormorant

Mon, 07/12/2015
‘Through the Lens’, Fujingaho Magazine, December 2015
Common Kestrel (Falco tinnunculus). Photo: HIH Princess Takamado

Common Kestrels - the changing relationship of co...

Thu, 01/10/2015
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho magazine, October 2015
Brown Dipper (Cinclus pallasii). Photo: HIH Princess Takamado

Ninja on the Stream

Sat, 01/08/2015
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho magazine, August 2015
Little Grebe (Tachybaptus ruficollis). Photo: HIH Princess Takamado

Rearing Babies Piggyback

Mon, 01/06/2015
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho Magazine, June 2015

First steps towards an Asian land bird monitoring...

Mon, 13/04/2015

Question: How do we know that many bird species are declining?

Mystery of Colours

Wed, 01/04/2015
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho Magazine, April 2015
Rustic Bunting (male) Emberiza rustica. Photo: HIH Princess Takamado

Tiny Birds on the Snow

Sun, 01/02/2015
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho magazine, February 2015

Flightless Birds

Mon, 01/12/2014
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho magazine, December 2014

Hummingbirds in Colombia

Wed, 01/10/2014
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho magazine, October 2014

Rice Fields with Birds

Fri, 01/08/2014
'Through the Lens', Fujingaho magazine, August 2014